The final resting place of over a quarter of a million Londoners and one of the so called ‘Magnificent Seven’. This wild and overgrown Victorian cemetery was built in 1840 to keep up with the growing demand of London’s burgeoning population. It’s now a tranquil woodland and is a wonderful place to wander through. (It’s also great for dog-spotting).
Built in 1840, the cemetery is home to majestic tombs and crumbling vaults; some of which are open to the public during guided walks.
The imposing cemetery fell into disrepair in the 1950’s, and gradually changed into a woodland and nature reserve. In 1998, the cemetery received £1.2 million from the Heritage Lottery Fund, which helped the local council to preserve and maintain some of its original features and monuments.
Make sure to find your way to the bench which sits in front of the view of St. Paul’s peeking through the clearing in the trees.
Also, get lost in the myriad of paths and secret passage ways and discover some of the graves of wealthy South-East London families, which sit alongside the smaller and less grandiose sites of public and common graves.
More InfoFreinds of Nunhead Cemetery